Coffee Alternatives (An Update!)

The Universe is really something. She loves to reveal things, usually in the midst of something else going on. When I set out on my no coffee quest over a month ago, I thought my task was simple—don’t drink coffee. Simple it was not. I struggled all way, and at week two, appropriately on April Fool’s Day, I was irritable, fatigued, and struggling to stay focused. I thought to myself, “What would happen if I had a cup of coffee?” I was curious enough to try, and pleasantly surprised by the outcome. Processed with VSCO with a6 presetThis was not my first attempt to ease up on coffee consumption. It was, however, the most challenging. I suppose starting at the end of the term, with finals looming, and deadlines to complete, was not the best idea. Or, maybe it was the idea of the year. Either way, it was what I needed to gain perspective. This challenge, paired with the New Moon in Aries at the beginning of the month, was the truth! Processed with VSCO with a6 presetThe real lesson in it for me is learning how to have self-compassion. After the difficult two weeks, after the first cup of coffee, and the one after that, something shifted. I started running, along with practicing Qigong and Taiji almost daily. I finally started organizing my grandmother’s recipes, which has inspired me to create nutrient dense meals (and beverages!) from home more often. I nourish. I savor. And I’m grateful that the Universe cares enough to keep me on my toes.Processed with VSCO with a6 presetThanks for reading, and journeying with me through this challenge.

xo,

Christian

Notes

