Free/Style: Afro Blue

In between studying for exams, and writing for my portfolio this week I’ve been trying to make time for art. I found a few super inspiring gems from POC artists I admire, and thought I would share! 

tumblr_ntjymllrld1r25k9co1_1280
Art by LaKendra Huckaby

I’m all about this rad illustration by LaKendra Huckaby. Her Instagram is full of righteous art with bold pops of color, featuring beautiful people of color. 717ylkkfg8l-_sl1050_Afro Blue by the Robert Glasper Experiment, featuring Erykah Badu has been on repeat at my house. And next week, I have a feeling both Black Radio albums will in heavy rotation.

9281f13a337a5db85978afcef2f1d616
Toward Infinity, by Gordon Parks

This stunning image by Gordon Parks from his 1993-95 Later Abstractions artworks collection is just perfect. And here’s a fitting quote:

 

There’s another horizon out there, one more horizon that you have to make for yourself and let other people discover it, and someone else will take it further on, you know. —Gordon Parks

xo, Christian

 

Notes

