2016 Calendar

Bodacious Botanicals Send Out

Don’t be satisfied with stories, how things have gone with others. Unfold your own myth.” ―Rumi

For the past three weeks I’ve been studying for finals, and working on a calendar for 2016. While finals have gone well, It’s been a real struggle trying to complete the calendar. The difficulty is not so much the actual making of the thing, in fact that’s the fun part. The challenge for me is getting over the self-defeating hump. I think that everyone goes through this at some point, whether their creating a painting to sell, designing a workshop for a group, or putting together a presentation for a class project, there is a moment that makes you feel unsure if what you’ve made is “good enough”.  At times, it’s easy to move past this stage of the creative process. Most of the time, I find myself getting stuck here. This leads to a lot of unfinished projects, which is equally as frustrating, and perpetuates the voice of self-doubt. It can be really hard to change a narrative that has become so chronic.

Somehow, it the midst of my own personal chronic self-doubting narrative, I managed to print the damn calendar! I also did another round of edits, adding dates and correcting errors. I’m really proud of this calendar, not only because it includes my original photography, dates of observance from the Anti-Defamation League, New moon, Full moon, Equinox, and Solstice dates, but more importantly, I finished it!

I’m excited to start using my 2016 calendar. So much so that I’m offering it first to all my blog readers! In addition to the calendar, you’ll get a magnetic clip, and a hand-written note from me. This will be a limited printing run, so make sure to reserve yours today! Thank you so much for your support :)

In solidarity,

Christian

Notes

