Women of Color Who DIY: Books

I remember the first time I stopped straightening my hair with chemicals, blow dryers, and flat irons. I was a senior in high school, on the swim team, just about ready to graduate, and heading to Antioch College. At that same moment I began owning my journey as an activist and feminist, reading works by Alice Walker, and Maya Angelo. Audre Lorde, Pat Parker, Arundhati Roy, bell hooks, Joy Harjo, Marjane Satrapi, Sandras Cisneros and Winona LaDuke have also welcomed me through the years. Each one has, in some way, reminded me who I am with words, and humor, and most certainly with the truth. Processed with VSCOcam with s3 presetWhen I look to fellow activist-artists, it instills in me a sense of possibility. And this holiday season, I’ve decided to share a few of my favorite creations from women of color who are doing it themselves! This will be a multi-genre endeavor, with works form makers in diverse disciplines. Today, I’m kicking off the series with women of color writers.

// THE LIST //

∞ Alice Walker: The Color PurpleIn Search of our Mothers’ Gardens

∞ Maya Angelou: The Complete Poetry, Life Doesn’t Frighten Me

∞ Audre Lorde: The Collected Poems of Audre LordeZami: New Spelling of My Name 

∞ Pat Parker: Movement In Black

∞ Arundhati Roy: The God of Small Things, Field Notes on Democracy: Listening to Grasshoppers

∞ bell hooks: Feminist Theory: From Margin to Center, Ain’t I a Woman: Black Women and Feminism 

Joy Harjo: Conflict Resolution for Holy BeingsShe Had Some Horses 

∞ Marjane Satrapi: The Complete Persepolis, Embroideries

∞ Sandra Cisneros: Loose WomanA House of My Own: Stories from My Life

∞ Winona LaDuke: Last Standing Woman (History & Heritage), All Our Relations: Native Struggles for Land and Life 

∞ Alex Elle: A Note to Self

These are just a *few of my favorites, and I know there are many more voices that I want, and need to hear. I’d love to know who are some of your favorite women of color writers, and which of their works you enjoy most.

In Solidarity,

Christian

 

 

Notes

