Free/Style: Make The Road by Walking

DSCN1341
Yellow Springs, OH

Maybe it’s the fact that I don’t have a car, or that love walking, but there is something to be said about getting around by foot (and bus!). I’ve been car-free for about 7 years now. To be honest, this is partly out of financial necessity. And it’s also largely due to the fact that walking is a tradition passed on to me by my grandmother. We used to walk everywhere together. Every city, town, and village that I’ve called home I’ve had to the chance to get to know by walking its streets. In my experience, there is no better way to understand the rhythm of a place. I sometimes take this for granted, but when I actually step back to reflect I realize how much traveling by foot has shaped my identity.

Yesterday I took a moment to light a candle for all of the wisdom walking has brought me. Every street corner from Lima, Ohio to Mali, West Africa reserves a special place in my heart. To celebrate, I made a mix for the occasion—you know how I do! So, let’s jam!

Have a great weekend!

Peace,

Christian

Notes

