Planning Our Trip To Chicago

Insider-Guide-Chicago--f55b85ebc97a49bfb0511644192879e3The other day I realized that my partner and I will be getting on a plane heading for the Midwest this time next month. The word ‘excitement’ only scratches the surface, at least for me ;) It’s been about a year since we’ve been home– Chicago, and Lima respectively. We’re well overdue for a visit, right? I thought I’d share a peek at some of the things we’re look forward to during our travels. First up: Chicago!

Lewis_chp6_02-975x697ART

  1. The Freedom Principle: Experiments in Art and Music, 1965 to Now (Currently on exhibit at the MOCA)
  2. DuSable Museum of African-American History (One of the best museums in Chicago)
  3. National Museum of Mexican Art (One of my favorite museums of all time)

EAT + DRINK

  1. Dark Matter Coffee (But first, a cup of the best coffee in town)
  2. Pastoral (Local, in season treats)
  3. Soul Vegetarian (Healthy soul food  on the south side that makes me smile)
  4. Toni Patisserie and Café (A slice of France in Chicago near the loop)

VISIT

  1. Chicago Freedom School (A youth leadership  organization dear to my heart)
  2. Project Nia (A leading prison abolition organization in the U.S.)
  3. Lake Michigan with friends (Yay for beach time with my homies)

THRIFT

  1. Comet Vintage (My favorite place to thrift in Pilsen)
  2. The Brown Elephant (An awesome thrift shop run by Howard Brown Health Center)
  3. Unique Thrift Store (A Chicago thrifting staple)

The-El-in-Chicago-engagement-sessionMaking this list kinda (read really) makes me want to move back to Chicago after grad school. I didn’t realize I missed it so much. I’m really looking forward to getting back to my second city, riding the El, walking around to see what’s new, eating, and making lots of photographs with the people I love. Is it September yet?

If you have suggestions on rad places in Chi-city, please leave a comment + link!  In solidarity, Christian

Photos by Wright Way Photography, Wadsworth Jerrell, Pastoral Chicago, Sergiy N, Comet Vintage, Magnet Street Wedding Photography

Notes

