Whole30 (Round Two!)

slow-roasted-salmon-with-fennel-citrus-and-chiles-940x600Hello, and happy Friday! Today I’m sharing a few grain-free meal ideas that I plan to make during my second Whole30 challenge. I had such great success when I tried the program back in March, that I immediately starting looking forward to the next one. The time has arrived, and I’ve got some great inspiration to work with, so let’s get to it!

grilled-vegetable-salad-with-raw-green-mole-940x560

Since we are in the thick of summer, this is the best time to cultivate the energy of the season. One way to make sure you’re storing all the juicy goods this time of year has to offer is to get a healthy dose of warming foods. I know, this might seem counter-intuitive or counter-productive, but I promise you it’s worth it!

tumblr_inline_nb54ubrfWC1qdei8m

Here’s the thing, if you flood your digestive system with too many cold-temperature foods, it will slow things way down, and you don’t want to do that. Adding a bit of heat by boiling, stir-frying, steaming, or stewing your meals will support your internal organ function. You’ll absorb nutrients better, decrease indigestion, and keep things running nice and smooth ;)Beet_endive_salad_2

I love creating meals that are colorful and versatile. I’m imaging this endive and beet dish nice and warm with shrimp in place of beans, and sans quinoa.

Good thing it’s almost lunch time, because my belly is speaking to me! I am so excited to share this journey with you again. I’d love to hear your advice, tips, or meal ideas! What should I make?

In solidarity,

Christian

P.S. You can read about my first Whole30 Challenge week by week here, here, here, and here.


Image sources:

  1. Slow roast Salmon via Bon Appetite
  2. Grilled Vegetable Salad via Bon Appetite
  3. Oven-baked Sweet Potato Fries via Nom NomPaleo
  4. Beet and Endive Dish via Green Kitchen Stories
Notes

