Taiji + Mind-Body Disciplines

Mia Mingus has a beautiful quote as stated in her closing remarks during the INCITE! Color of Violence 4 Conference. She notes:

Practice builds the sharpest analysis.

Taking this quote to heart has re-shaped my whole approach to mind-body awareness, and how I choose to get fit. So often, I have entered into exercise and nutritional programs with too much analysis, and not enough practice. The process of thinking has overshadowed any actual action.

It’s never too late to start practicing something you love. When I started graduate school, I was already hip to the importance of mind-body disciplines. I’ve been practicing yoga on and off for almost 15 years, and always revel in the holism that I feel during my practice. This year I completed Taiji 3, and feel so thankful to know the whole 24-form practice. Learning Taiji has really been a blessing, and I am reminded how crucial it is for me to follow a fitness regimen with a philosophical base. And of course, when I need a little motivation, it always helps to read about the history of Taiji, and see images of practitioners I admire! How about you? What is your favorite mind-body discipline?

In solidarity,

Christian


Credits (Top left to bottom right): 1 // 2 // 3 // 4 // 5

Notes

