Freestyle Friday: Volume 14

Leandra_Becerra_Lumbreras_Mexican_Revolution_Soldadera_2
Still from “Soldadera,” Nao Bustamante’s documentary-in-­progress about Leandra Becerra Lumbreras and her family.

Happy Friday! I am excited to bring you another roundup of fly articles from around the web this week. First, I want to take a moment to thank you for reading, and journeying with me. I also want to let you know that your support has truly encouraged me to keep up the practice of writing, and most importantly, reading. Thank you!

Freestyle Friday is all about sharing information, and today I have a great list with 5 links to articles I hope you will enjoy. I have had the opportunity to read some, and others I look forward to reading in the near future.  If you missed the start of the series, you can read (listen, view) Volume 1-13 here.

  1. I am so stoked to read this piece about Leandra Becerra Lumbreras, and other Soldaderas who partook in the Mexican Revolution.
  2. This is a stellar interview on Democracy Now with Edwidge Danticat concerning issues of “ethnic purging”, mass deportation, and the displacement of Haitian families.
  3. This articles offers a solution utilizing indigenous knowledge to tackle California’s long-standing drought issues.
  4. When finals are over, I intend on sitting down with a cup of coffee to read the Pope’s climate change encyclical.
  5. High on my post-graduate school ‘to-read’ is The Barefoot Doctors Cyclopedia.

Enjoy!

In solidarity,

Christian

Notes

