Freestyle Friday: Volume 10

It’s been 10 weeks since the Freestyle Friday series kicked off! I can’t think of a better way to rock out with you than listen to NPR’s album preview of the Alabama Shakes, Sound and Color, and share a few black and white photos ;) Booker_ChrsitianTottyBooker, 2005

Rewind to a little over 10 years ago, and you’ll have found me working on a photography project. The focus of the visual thesis was centered on solidarity. I asked people in my community about their connect to the image of the raised fist. We then made images together which acted as their signature, in a way. There was another component to the project, which was a bit less formed in concept, but did allow me to create an educational installation. It was a fun project.Handstyles01_2015Hand-styles 01, 2015

I’ve been dreaming up other photo projects lately. I’ve also been considering revisiting some from the past that I want to build upon and expand. SaintNumber8Saint Number 8, 2015

This robot totally reminded me of that movie Short Circuit. I’m not sure who the artist is who creatively recused objects to make this dude, but I’ve been energetically sending high-fives to whomever you are! I’ve also lovingly named them Saint Number 8, ’cause he’s infinite, and generally magical :) ChristianTottyPhotograph by Richard Conley, 2015

Hey there! Handstyles02_2015Hand-styles 02, 2015

I’ve been seeing more hand-styles recently around Austin. The one above is mine. Haha! The connection between hand-style tags and solidarity fists is intriguing. Both emerging from cultural and social revolutions. I am curious to witness the artistic manifestations that develop here in Austin as the city continues its rapid growth. I pray I will be armed with the necessary tools to help document and share the change. In solidarity, Christian   

Notes

