Freestyle Friday: Volume 8

Y’all remember back in February I mentioned having a deep love of mixed tapes? In that post I reveled my long-standing history of making mixes for family and friends. I also shared a YouTube mix focused on poetry, as well. I realized how rad it would be if I could continue this project using SoundCloud. I’ll admit, I am late as all get out to this platform. But, I’m hip now, and that’s all the really matters.

As soon as I started making my first playlist, I felt a deep sense of reconnection to the art and science that is making a mixed tape. Even though I no longer have to manually pause, rewind, fast-forward, and match up transitions (that was the fun part!), curating songs with a common theme is still something I geek out on! I will be that granny making mixes for my loved ones ;)

So let’s get to this! Check out my first mix Beats For The Libra Lunar Eclipse. A Hip-hop and R&B base, with a nostalgic undercurrent, and a dab of lunar love. ♡ In Solidarity, Christian

Credits // Model: Dysha Waites // Photographer: Christian Totty

Notes

