Whole 30: Week 3

Whole30-15-05

When I started the Whole 30 challenge, I thought it would be way more emotionally difficult for me. Fast forward three weeks later, and I feel like I have a good handle on things, especially with portion control! That’s a big one for me. How about you? I’m in the home stretch now, with only 10 more days left, and realize the greater lesson in all of this is to listen to what my body needs. Before this challenge, I thought I was well versed enough in my personal nutritional needs. Yet, after 20 days going without gluten and sugar, I understand just how sensitive I am to those products. This will serve to be a helpful reminder moving forward, and is an experience I can talk openly about with patients in the clinic.

Replacing processed sugar with fruit (and the occasional date) has been the best thing for me. This morning I woke up and felt a strong urge to make a smoothie. It’s been at least a few months since I made one, so this was right on time! I only made one serving, but you can double up on the ingredients to yield 2-3 servings. The ingredients used include:

  • 1 Nectarine
  • 1 Banana
  • 2 cups of water
  • Tablespoon for coconut oil
  • Tablespoon of chia seeds
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • 4 ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Chop the nectarine and banana into small chunks
  2. Put the fruit in the bottom of the blend first
  3. Layer with chia seeds, coconut oil, and cinnamon
  4. Add water and ice last
  5. Blend to desired consistency

I hope you enjoy this smooth and refreshing blend. Happy Saturday! ♡ In Solidarity, Christian

Notes

