Freestyle Friday: Volume 1

Last night I celebrated the start of my spring break by reading articles I had bookmarked since the quarter started. After reading a few, I quickly noticed a theme emerged. Then I came across a quote by Aph Ko, the creator of the blooming YouTube series Black Feminist Blogger, which really got my wheels turning. “As a feminist, I became obsessed with the power of visual media and I saw how representation could affect reality. I saw how imagination was a very powerful tool, and how visual media could serve as the platform to enact change”. Over the course of just a few months, the Universe had sent me these magical messages with emphasis on creative expression and identity, along with stellar examples of how POC are utilizing various media to tell their stories. Today I’m sharing my favorite stories around the internet. Some are old, some are new, all equally powerful. Marie-Wilcox-1024x576Meet Marie Wilcox. Her story made my heart melt. She totally reminds me of my Granny. Ms. Marie is a fierce Wukchumni elder of the Yokuts tribe from central California, and the last fluent speaker of the Wukchumni language. The New York Times filmed a short documentary, Who Speaks Wukchumni? featuring Ms. Marie, her daughter, and grandson as they create a comprehensive Wukchumni language dictionary. o-HUSBAND-900-Gordon-Parkso-MRS-J-900-Gordon-Parks slide_free-Gordon-ParksGordon Parks in my favorite photographer. Recently, a series of Parks’ never before seen photographs were found by Karen Haas, of MFA Boston. Many of these images were made by Parks in Fort Scott, Kansas and depict African-American families during 1950’s segregation. Most likely, these images were made for LIFE magazine, where Parks was a photographer for many years. Why they were never published is a mystery, but the photographs are as relevant today as they were 65 years ago. If you’re lucky enough to live in the Boston area, check out the full exhibit, and feel free to tell me all about it! misspelledThere is really nothing more magical than five women of color who cast spells, and take no s#$! in the process! When I heard about the MisSpelled series (also on YouTube) I was overcome with a particular joy reserved especially for us brown and proud, femme, geeky ladies. The writer and creator of the show, Lindsey McDowell, also stars as Gladys, one of the bewitching leading ladies. Everything about this series is pure genius, and none of my words will really provide any justice. Just go watch it!

Other gems from the web this week:

  1. The Day Nelson Mandela Walked Out of Prison via NPR.
  2. An excerpt from The Letters of Langston Hughes via Huffington Post Books.
  3. An Interview with Aph Ko of Black Feminist Blogger via The Daily Beast.

Well, there is a ton of extracurricular reading here to fill your weekend! Let me know what you think. Is it too much? Not enough? Just enough? Happy Friday, friends! ♡ In Solidarity, Christian 

Notes

