Archives of Memory 02

Evidence of PresenceToday, I’m taking it way back to 2004, and my first (formal) photography class. I remember this day so well. It was a beautiful winter day, the sun was shining, and I had a vintage Canon in my hands. Our class split up into groups and we went out adventuring together through the astounding Glen Helen Nature Preserve, located right across the street from my alma mater, Antioch College. As a photographer, I tend to look for the details because they indicated a message, or story. After hiking for about 20 minutes, I knew I had found something quite wonderful with the above image. A single hand print left in the snow. I positioned myself to snap this photo with the sun coming in beside me, casting an almost eerie glow upon the print. My mind raced with wonder. Who left their mark here? Was it intentional, or an unconscious act? Everything I love about photography is captured in this image. The mysterious, playful, artistic qualities that this art form incites is, to me, unparalleled. How about you? What do you love most about photography? In Solidarity, Christian

Notes

