Archives of Memory 01

Table Top MountainThis time of year is always a bit sentimental for me. If you’ve ever heard A Charlie Brown Christmas, you know exactly what kind of vibe I’m talking about! It kinda melts my heart, and makes me smile all at once, especially the version of Greensleeves. Yo, it makes me have all the feelings! I wouldn’t change anything about the emotional aspects of the holidays. It is, after all, the Winter Solstice, a time of year when we are energetically compelled to retreat, to draw inward, and hunker down into the core for rest and revival. Time slows down with this universal shift, and contemplation is paramount. I love to look through old photo albums of all my travels. It is a really sacred time for me to remember the people I’ve met, and the places I’ve lived. It also provides me space to focus and send peace, love, and light to my family and friends at home, and around the world. In honor of this stellar time, I’m going to share photos from my archives leading up to the New Year, with a little story about each one. My goal is to share 10 images. I hope it inspires you to express your gratitude for all the memories and moments in your lives, too! Leave a note in the comments with a link if you want to join me in this adventure!

The photo above is at Table Top Mountain in South Africa. I had the chance to visit Cape Town in 2006 with my then girlfriend. She and I explored the city together, and it was pretty romantic, and definitely fun! It took us about 3.5 hours to climb this beauty! It took so long mostly because we went up the steepest side of the mountain, which is not the right way at all! It was well worth it though because we got to see a lot of that most tourist guides skip over only visiting the flatter side. In fact, that is how Table Top got its name. It is literally as flat as a table, but stunning all the same. There are so many things I did not get to do in South Africa. I am always thinking about ways to get back there. It would be so fly to work with an NGO health organization that provides acupuncture and Chinese medicine. Do you know of any organizations like this in Cape Town, or Jo’burg?

In Solidarity,

Christian

Notes

