Travel CNT Kit

Travel CNT Kit

The other day I got to thinking about all the items I would need for my (highly anticipated) trip home to the Midwest. Of course there is the usual: warm socks, long underwear, heavy sweater, hat, scarf, gloves, and a travel CNT kit. You read it right, a travel CNT kit! The Clean Needle Technique, or CNT is a course administered by the Council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (CCAOM). This is one of many requirements for National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) certification, as well as state licensure. Think of it as a mobile treatment room. In fact, most of the supplies are the same: a clean field, cotton and gauze, alcohol, disinfectant, a bag for waste, and a sharps container. And needles! I brought along a total of forty-four, a fairly conservative amount. This is my first time traveling with a CNT kit, so I know it will change over time. That’s all good with me. The more practice I have, the better it will get. And hopefully one day, I will be packing up a much larger kit to take with me on international flights. A friend in Bamako, Mali recently told me Acupuncture is practiced in one of the local hospitals. Talk about full circle! 

In addition to needling supplies I also brought packets of herbs, vitamins, and tinctures, specifically Chai Hu Shu Gan San (a popular formula for soothing the Liver), EmergenC, Rescue Remedy, and White Flower (a liquid analgesic). I think I should put a few band aids in there, too. What do you think? Do you pack an emergency kit when you travel? What items do you put in it?

In Solidarity,

Christian

Notes

