Photography and Accountability

Photography and Accountability

Photography and Accountability
Photography by Jerome Libeling
Photography and Accountability
Photography by Dorthea Lange
Photography and Accountability
Photography by Jack Manning

Peace and power.  Today has been emotionally charged.  How has your day been so far?  I’ve been in heavy contemplation mode, and by mid-afternoon, a knot welled up in my chest.  After looking at a few photographs and taking a breather, the knot slowly started to unwind, and I cried.  Long, and hard.  Sometimes, I just have to cry, because of the injustice and violence in this world.  Healing from oppression and supporting others in their healing process, is my truest passion.  The tools that I use to carry out my work are my two hands.  Through bodywork and photography, I strive to be a better human being.  To soothe, and move, and transform.  To be an alchemist of my own making, by the guidance of my ancestors.  Photography teaches me to listen first.  It trains my eyes, ears, and heart to observe with love, and compassion.

Wherever you may be, and whoever you may be, I hope you are healing.  I hope you are (one day) able to help others heal.  Here is a prayer to get us closer to that healing place:

May we all cast off the chains of colonization, and greed.  May the blood of my black and brown Indigenous ancestors not be in vain.  My we understand our history, and be accountable to it.  May we all reach beyond perceived limitations.  May the tools we use be mighty, and non-harming.  May we all know liberation, and celebrate the light inside of us, as well as others.  

Peace be with you.  xo, Christian

One Reply to “Photography and Accountability”

Notes

